Universal Monsters Franchise Is Called… Dark Universe!

The shared cinematic universe starring the likes of Frankenstein’s Monster, Dr Jekyll/Mr Hyde and the Mummy has a new name…


The first movie in the franchise is The Mummy, starring Tom Cruise and Sofia Boutella, released on June 9th. The next movie is Bride of Frankenstein, starring Javier Bardem as the Monster, arriving in February 2019.

Johnny Depp will feature – well, sort of – as the Invisible Man in another movie. Russell Crowe as Dr Henry Jekyll/My Hyde will be the ‘Nick Fury’ figure of the franchise. His monster-busting organisation Prodigium will unite the various creatures of the night.

See the cast so far together in the image below and then watch the announcement trailer, which reminds us of the original movies of the 1930s and 40s that the franchise is based off.

Are you interested in this new shared movie universe? Let us know below!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s